Favorited Tweets #3

For Week 2 of the MTBoS Blogging Initiation, I’ve decided to write about my favorite tweets. Or more accurately, tweets that I have favorited and quickly forgotten.

myfav

1) In Matt Larson‘s engaging ignite talk, he wants us to seek equilibrium by teaching How, Why and When:

2) Graham Fletcher‘s “Progression of Multiplication and the Standard Traditional Algorithm” video enthralls me. I didn’t learn to multiply this way, so it’s extremely helpful to see how the earlier connections students will now be making, are going to make it easier for them learn high school math one day.

3) I am loving all the Desmos Activity Builders everyone is sharing, and these two from Laurie B look particularly fun for our upcoming unit on exponentials:

4) I agree with Sadie! This Common Core coherence map is very helpful!

5) This activity from Dylan Kane gives students the chance to examine the properties and structure of polynomials as they determine which one doesn’t belong.

Update: Here are links to two past posts with favorited tweets:
Favorited Tweets #1
Favorited Tweets #2

8 thoughts on “Favorited Tweets #3

  1. I had seen the Graham Fletcher video before, but the rest of these resources were new to me. I especially likes the Matt Larson video. I wish I had the guts to give parents the leech example when they complain to me about the Common Core. Just yesterday, I had to change the teacher for a student because they didn’t like the way the teacher was commenting on her work — expecting the student to try to figure out their mistake. Although we are the “experts,” untrained, unqualified parents sometimes get the final decision.

    I noticed you said that you had favorited and then FORGOTTEN these tweets. Anything you can do to refresh and/or remind yourself of these great resources in the future?

    • Thanks, Dan! I updated the post to include two links to other posts following the same format. I seem to be on a trend of doing this only once a year, but strive to write more as these posts are better for record keeping and sharing ideas.

  2. Pingback: Missives from the Online World / Global Math Department

Leave a Reply

